North American Indigenous Games


North American Indigenous Games (NAIG)

The North American Indigenous Games are a multi-sport, multi-disciplinary event involving Indigenous youth from Canada and the United States. The Games offer 14 sport competitions in addition to a vibrant cultural program, showcasing local and North American indigenous cultural groups and entertainers.

The NAIG, was first held in 1990 in Edmonton, Alberta, and has been staged on seven other occasions since then, in various locations throughout Canada and the United States. Athletes competing in the NAIG must be born of North American Indigenous ancestry. All contingents participating in the North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) must represent the Indigenous Peoples of a Province/Territory in Canada, or a State/Region in the United States of America. Only athletes registered with a contingent are eligible to compete in the NAIG.

For more information, visit



Toronto 2017 NAIG

The Toronto 2017 North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) was expected to be the largest sporting and cultural gathering of Indigenous Peoples in North America for 2017. The Toronto 2017 NAIG hosted more than 5,000 participants, 2,000 volunteers and countless spectators for 14 sport categories held within world-class venues located across the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), including the Region of Hamilton and Six Nations of the Grand River.


Theme of the 2017 Games

Past, Present, Future. All One.

The Toronto 2017 North American Indigenous Games (NAIG) united individuals and communities across North America through sport and celebrated our past (heritage), present (unity) and future (youth). In the spirit of the NAIG movement, the Toronto 2017 NAIG worked to promote the unity of Indigenous Peoples across North America and cultivate opportunities for physical, cultural and social development.


The 2017 NAIG logo incorporated an eagle, feather, sash and the colours of the northern lights. The eagle is a symbol of great significance to many Indigenous people across North America, representing strength, leadership and wisdom. The feather (First Nations), sash (Métis) and northern lights (Inuit) represented the spirit and celebration of the Games and symbolized the coming together of all Indigenous people in unity and strength.

The colours sought to represent the emotions that the Games evoke: inspiration, kinship, passion, determination, courage, harmony and will.